HAP's Latest News

With Historic “Firsts”—Senate Republicans and House Democrats Select Leadership Team

November 12, 2020

The Hospital and Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania congratulates the Senate Republicans and House Democratic leaders whose peers today chose them to serve as their respective caucus leaders for the 2021-2022 legislative session.

Senate Republicans

Senator Jake Corman (R-Centre), who previously held the position of Senate Majority Leader, was unanimously nominated by his caucus to serve as Senate President Pro Tempore. This position, like the Speaker of the House, requires a vote of the full Senate which will occur when the new session begins in January. The position was left open by the retirement of Senator Joe Scarnati (R-Jefferson) who held the position since 2007.

Senator Kim Ward (R-Westmoreland) was elected by her caucus as the Republican Majority Leader. Most recently she served as a member of the leadership team as the Caucus Administrator and Chair of the Senate Transportation Committee. Senator Ward will serve as the first woman to hold the position of Majority Leader in the Senate or House.

The remainder of the Senate Republican leadership team will stay the same, with Senator Pat Browne (R-Lehigh) continuing to serve as Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee, Senator John Gordner (R-Columbia) as Majority Whip, Senator Bob Mensch (R-Montgomery) as Majority Caucus Chairman, and Senator Ryan Aument (R-Lancaster) as Caucus Secretary.

House Democrats

Leaving the top position within the House Democratic caucus vacant, former Minority Leader Frank Dermody (D-Allegheny) succumbed to his Republican challenger this week, triggering a leadership shuffle within the caucus and providing some new faces to leadership.

House Democrats elected Representative Joanna McClinton (D-Philadelphia) to serve as House Minority Leader for the 2021-2022 session. Representative McClinton is the first woman and woman of color to hold this position in the House. Most recently she served as Minority Caucus Chair.

Representative Jordan Harris (D-Philadelphia) was re-elected to his post as Minority Whip.

Representative Matt Bradford (D-Montgomery) was re-elected as Minority Appropriations Chair.

New to the leadership team are:

Representative Ryan Bizarro (D-Erie) serving as Minority Policy Chair

Representative Dan Miller (D-Allegheny) serving as Caucus Chair

Representative Tina Davis (D-Bucks) serving as Caucus Secretary

Representative Mike Schlossberg (D-Lehigh) serving as Caucus Administrator

Senate Democrats have postponed their leadership elections until next week, and House Republicans held elections earlier in the week.

For more information contact Stephanie Watkins, HAP's vice president for state legislative advocacy, or Warren Kampf, HAP's senior vice president for advocacy and external affairs.