HAP's Latest News

During State Budget Week, Two New Faces Join Senate Democratic Caucus Leadership Team

November 19, 2020

As legislators work to finalize the details of the 2020–2021 state budget, the Senate Democrats elected their leadership team for the 2021–2022 legislative session. There are two new members of the Senate Democratic leadership team with Senator Maria Collett (D–Bucks/Montgomery) elected by her peers as Caucus Secretary and Senator Katie Muth (D–Montgomery) elected as Minority Policy Committee Chair.

Additionally, familiar faces were re-elected to the leadership team:

  • Senator Jay Costa (D–Allegheny) was re-elected as Minority Leader
  • Senator Anthony Williams (D–Philadelphia) was re-elected as Minority Whip
  • Senator Vincent Hughes (D–Philadelphia) was re-elected as Minority Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee
  • Senator Wayne Fontana (D–Allegheny) was re-elected as Caucus Chair

HAP looks forward to our working with members of the Senate Democratic leadership team and congratulates leaders on their roles.

The Senate Democrats were the last of the four caucuses to elect their leadership team. House Republicans, Senate Republicans, and House Democrats elected their teams last week.

Budget legislation continues to move through the legislative process this evening and HAP will provide additional information as details are finalized.

For more information contact Stephanie Watkins, HAP’s vice president, state legislative advocacy.